Texas DWI/DUI Attorney
If Stopped for DWI in Texas, Be Aware of Your Rights and Be Polite
It can be confusing to be pulled over by a police officer. Then to be ordered to perform field sobriety tests and other tests can add to the confusion — and to your ability to do the tests properly.
Our advice at the Tylka Law Firm in Galveston, Texas, is to be polite However, be aware that you have rights. Talk to your lawyer before you talk to a police officer. What you say can and will be used against you. You can call a DWI defense lawyer at any time of day or night. Call attorney Lawrence M. Tylka’s cell phone (713-829-6048).
Your League City DWI Defense Attorney Knows Texas Law and Your Rights
There are many ways to challenge a DWI/DUI arrest. At the Tylka Law Firm, we begin by asking law enforcement why you were stopped. There must be probable cause. If there were blood or breath tests, was the administrator properly trained, was the machine properly calibrated, was the chain of custody properly maintained?
Field sobriety tests are notoriously inaccurate. There are many reasons to be unsteady that have nothing to do with alcohol. Distracting lights on a dark road or uneven footing can throw off the most sober of people.
Protect You Driver’s License; Talk to a DWI Lawyer
A DWI or DUI arrest automatically means a loss of your driver’s license unless you request a hearing with the DMV. Our law firm can guide you through the process and help you get an occupational driving permit — even if you did not submit to testing.
There are many degrees of DWI penalties in Texas.
- 1st offense: A conviction for a first DWI carries a statutory punishment range of 3 days to 180 days in jail. If you are found to have an open container in the vehicle, there is a minimum jail sentence of six months. Probation is often a year, and fines range from $100 to $2,000. In addition, your license can be suspended from 90 days up to a year.
- 2nd offense: For a second DWI conviction, the jail time ranges from 30 days up to a year. Probation may still be available, but with more stringent conditions than a first offense and a duration of up to two years. You may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, and your license will be suspended from 90 days up to two years. You can also be fined up to $4,000.
- 3rd offense: In Texas, a third DUI conviction is a felony. It can be punished by a sentence of from 2 to 10 years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000. Probation can be part of the sentence, often with a condition of obtaining alcohol abuse treatment.
Start protecting your rights by talking to Mr. Tylka, an experienced DWI defense attorney. Call us now. We can help.
When Justice Matters… We Will Be There for Our Clients
Tylka Law Firm provides a free initial consultation to discuss a DWI arrest. Contact us by phone or online about your DWI charge. Hablamos Español.